On November 25th some of the pupils from 5th class took part in the concern worldwide primary debating league. We were debating against Clonmoney National School. The motion was “Homework is a waste of time”. Knockanean was proposing the motion. Adjudicator Mary Fitzgerald came to watch the debate. Three students were debating, Aoibheann Moore, Sarah Cosgrove and Dylan Lehane. There were three other debaters on the team, Oscar O’Gara, Amy Reynolds and Aoife Murphy. Jamesie Mc Mahon was the chairperson. He introduced the debaters before they spoke. Amelie Previlion was the timekeeper. She had to time the debaters. If a debater went over 3 minutes they got docked a point. Both of the schools had great speeches and had clearly rehearsed a lot, but Knockanean won! We are now through to the next round. The other people on the team will do the next debate. On behalf of all the debating team we would like to thank our teacher Lisa Hanlon, for giving us this amazing opportunity and our principal Mr Curran for letting us host the debate, and best of luck to the debating team in the next round.

By Aoibhinn Moore